April 6, 2010

Here are a few of my contemporary figures, they are my attempts to search past the detail and likeness of the figure. I try to simplify more than add, I look for patterns or shapes to tie together to form a rhythm. I think that the single figure forces you to focus, not on a story, but more on the attitude, design and to search for an emotional connection. The subject is just the object that I use to express something in myself that exists beyond the detail and likeness

There is a liberation in free thought if you are not affected by criticism and judgement but trust that intuitive compass where true north is only determined by the direction you are facing.

My single figures are ambiguous, unadorned and simplified, not to confuse the viewer but to offer an opportunity to engage and participate. In later blogs I will talk more in-depth about technique, symbols, philosophy  color and design etc

4 Responses to “”

  1. don hatfield Says:

    I love “true north determinined by the direction you are facing”. Thanks for these wonderful images, and the philosphy that attends them–please keep it coming–Hatfield

  2. Uncle Don Says:

    Dan: These works have the dimensionality of sculpture–with the addition of brilliant color and impasto–mood evoking as well–bravo! Don

  3. Nicole Hyde Says:

    Wonderful work, Dan! Love the mystery, the mood — very evocative.

  4. Frans Says:

    I love your works!!!
    Thanks for the inspiring mini talk at Bill Perkin’s color 5 day workshop. It was great to see you there.


Leave a Reply

